Z+5 is 1 Part of 3 Events this week, We shall Call ‘Em, Life Changing !

24 06 2010

I love this picture.

Iconic


In what could turn out to be an iconic picture I snapped the above on Monday Morning. I had just put a smaller stem on the slightly larger Ribble and was about to leave when I thought “That looks great, Time for a piccy”

I started the week on the Ribble, but that’s not how it would end.

Monday:

Took in a couple of great hills in what turned out to be a 22 mile day, while I was nowhere close to the pace I was at before my holiday I was sneaking up to the distance, but weight wasnt the only thing I lost on Holiday, fitness was also lost too, lets hope it returns ASAP.

Tuesday:

Tuesday I kept it to 14 miles due to the fact I got up late and was knackered at the end of a long day training.

Wednesday:

Back up to 20 miles again, and enjoying the hills I was taking on the way home, the 12% 1 Mile hill was turning out to be quite fun, Half way home and in Ashton I stopped at a red light (I know, breaking the stereotype that all cyclists run red lights) I was in the big ring and ready to sprint away, as soon as I stepped on the peddles BOOM I heard a bang and felt a wobble, looked at my rear wheel and it was badly damaged, before I know it there was an almighty noise, the wheel skidded and that was that, the rear derailleur had sheered off and gone into the spokes, had a nice walk home but can’t help thinking I could have done 26.2 miles if it wasnt for the issue.

OUCH

Thursday:

Was back on the Surosa and remembering why I love it so much, finished on 19 miles for the day but whats more is that I stood up for half of the 12% hill I  am now taking in, it was the hottest day of the week and by the top im sure I looked half dead, well that was the impression that the paramedic gave when he took a double take at me, either that or he was thinking “A fat lad shouldnt be able to do that” lol

Here is a pic of the hill, from now on its know as THOD (The Hill Of Death), while it’s not great, it give you an idea of the mile climb.

Looking down the bit I cycle up.

OK so its nothing for you 10 stone cyclists but getting my 290 lbs up there isn’t easy, added to the fact that to get to this point from where I work it’s a gradual hill, im happy enough.

Friday:

Was tired Friday morning, so only did 11 miles BUT in events that shocked me I set an average of 16.5 Mph, Happy nuff, Friday evening took in the above pictured hill and that was that and another 20 miles done.

I then watched th 3 LIONS ROAR !!!! ………..After watching old game highlights I put ITV on to watch the 3 Lions turn into 3 pussy cats, but that’s for another day, Ohh I take the blame as just before kick off I ordered the new England away shirt !! Took optimistic eh.

Sooo, me looking for and attacking hills is event 1 or 3 I talked about in the title, long may it continue.

Event number 2 happened on Saturday Morning:

When I got married my Ring size was “Z+5” I then put more weight on and it wouldn’t fit, it was too tight, that give you an idea of just how HUGE I used to be, the next time I attempted to put it on it was way too big, so we decided to leave it for a bit and allow me to lose more weight, so when I took it in on Saturday AM to get altered both the shop assistant myself and my wife almost passed out when we found out that it will need to be made 10 sizes smaller !!!

Event Number 3 was Saturday afternoon.

I said when I started to lose weight that I wanted a tattoo, well now was the time, I went to

Heart 4 Art (Shameless plug alert)

In Ashton and set about getting my first tattoo, I was a little worried that it would hurt as it was totally new to me, but it didn’t, actually it was enjoyable, so much so that I want me another 😀

Thanks again to the great people at Heart 4 Art who put me totally at ease………….What is it you say ? Well ……….

Touchdown CHARGERS !

That was taken just a few hours after it was done so its gonna take a while to settle down, but not bad for a “First time”

Stay tuned as we will have some excellent videos for you in the coming weeks.

Gaz

Actions

Information

10 responses

24 06 2010
Bassjunkieuk

Gaz! Well done mate, your awesome broke the bike 🙂 So far I’ve only managed to destroy 2 BB’s on separate bikes but ripping a derailleur off…….

Excellent work on the hills, might be worth getting a shot from the bottom as that can give a good impression of the hill.

As for the tattoo they are infectious! I’m currently on 4 and looking for ways to finance another…….

24 06 2010
39stonecyclist

Thanks Mark Mate, My Awesomeness sure did, I smashed that mech hanger to another world 🙂

Ironic you said that but I have done 4 pictures of around 90% of it this evening 😀

Yup, my next will be cycling related, cant wait 😀

24 06 2010
Peter Martin

Glad you didn’t hurt your self on the ribble!! Man you ain’t half getting the miles in – impressive stuff!

24 06 2010
39stonecyclist

Thanks Pete Mate, it was scary at first , was just about to get on a dual carridge way, phew !

Im getting there mate, im just a few lbs away from losing 50%, so im putting myself though it 🙂

24 06 2010
Matt

Managed to rip 2 rear mech’s off back in the spring, right pain, had a feeling it was something to do with the arm getting out of adjustment and catching on the spokes, still, hope you get it sorted, check the chain also, as it bent both of mine… grrrr

Keep up the good work buddy 🙂
(Ive been going exactly a year now!)

25 06 2010
39stonecyclist

Matt and GB, The bike killers eh 😀

Not looked at it yet, the part only came today.

Wow a year already ? hows it going ?

25 06 2010
Matt

It was a sinch to change, just a bit of fiddling with the indexing of the gears after, prob took about an hour in total.

Going well for the 1st year, not great, dropped 1.5 stone and done 900(ish) miles so not too bad. Feel free to drop by the blog sometime, I rather happy with it at the moment!

26 06 2010
39stonecyclist

Your doing great mate,keep it up !!!!!!

25 06 2010
Clive Chapman

Hills? Pah! We deliberately look for them now! 😉

25 06 2010
39stonecyclist

Bingo Clive, you are spot on mate.

What are YOUR Thoughts?

