Bank Holiday Pain – To Be A Cyclist Is To Be A Student Of Pain !

31 08 2010

Ben Roethlisberger’s coach give him this in his early years,I heard it on America’s Game and thought WOW,That’s  something to remember !

Success is failure turned inside out
The silver tint of the clouds of doubt;
And you never can tell how close you are,
It may be near when it seems afar,
So stick to the fight when you’re hardest hit;
It’s when things seem worst that you mustn’t quit

The poem, entitled So when I did the 3rd lap of Mottram Moor, heading for a finish on werneth low, I reminded myself of that line, “You never can tell how close you are” I am so close in my journey, now its time I ramp it up again and again and again, I need to kick so freaking hard now, and thats just what I did yesterday.

Bank Holiday PAIN !!!!!!

I am never going to quit, I am going to get to my goal and I sure as hell will make sure that I do it with the same style and effort I have been putting in since day 1, here we are, 2 years down the line, I am  still losing, finishing what I started, never wanting to quit, no matter how much pain I am in, I’m in a fight with obesity and I am still winning, the knock out is just around the corner.

Below is a video of the 4 climbs, Enjoy !

Actions

Information

4 responses

31 08 2010
Redbike

A long while ago I did a very similar route.

http://redbikes.blogspot.com/2009/08/lost-sheeps-ride.html

Most of the hills on my route were fairly tame (I didn’t struggle too much on a fixie) but I can remember one hill somewhere near Werneth Low golf course was an absolute brute. I struggled to get the bike down it!

Keep hitting those hills Gaz, there’s some absolute crackers Glossop way!

31 08 2010
39stonecyclist

Yeah, Mottram Moor isnt anything major, but to think back, just 15 months ago it took me 25 mins to get to the top just ONCE !!!!!

To do it 3 times in a row and then tackle to STUPID 26% er know as Werneth Low was the stuff of dreams 😀

The last bit to camera I did was oppo Werneth Low Gold Course, so, there are 3 ways up, all filled with PAIN 😀

Cheets Rad, I’ll sure as heck try

Gaz

PS hows the ankle now then ?

1 09 2010
Redbike

There’s permenent nerve and ligament damage to my ankle so unfortunately I wont be running any time soon; but the absolutely fantastic news is that I’m about to start riding again (in a fortnights time.)

This time last month I wasn’t sure if I would ever get back on the bike or not so i’m frilled to bits to be riding again!

I’ve got to start off slowly with a maximum of 10mins riding a day and steadily build up the distance / time so it will be a while before i’m taking on any hill repeats or 26% gradients.

2 09 2010
39stonecyclist

Well, at least you are back on the bike eh ? One step at a time mate, im pullin for ya though

What are YOUR Thoughts?

