The NHS & It’s Attitude To Obesity !

9 09 2010

Well, last night I was sat in my GP’s surgery for 40 mins waiting to be seen, I got bored, so I started to read every single poster they had, I then saw this !

Now, on the face of it, it looks good, HOWEVER look in the top right hand side “Girls Only”, Not an issue I though, there MUST be a “Men Only” day somewhere too, but alas there was no poster, this got me thinking, Most weight loss is geared towards women, so that when someone of the size I used to be looks around all they see, in the main, is stiff for women, as such its harder for men to start to lose weight as thereย isn’tย as much support !

The above also reminded me of when I logged onto “Eatwell.gov” there is a BMI calculator on there and I thought, “What BMI would our Government say I was at 39+ stone ?” so I set about putting my details in and got this.

Too Fat For The Government To Compute !!!!

They said that NO ONE could weigh so much and I must have it wrong !!!!!!!!!!

So the Government and Local PCT’s still seem to have the attitude so very wrong on obesity, I feel a soap box moment coming ๐Ÿ™‚

Gaz

Actions

Information

12 responses

9 09 2010
Bassjunkieuk

I wouldn’t put much faith in the BMI calculations. We recently received a letter from the local health service advising that after a “recent” measurement taken as school one our my tribe of kids was obese and in the 98th percentile (basically that means heavier then 98% of children of her age/height). The wife was devastated as the reading was about 3-4 months old and she certainly doesn’t look obese, like her older sister she grows in an “out and up” fashion where they put on weight they gain in height.

She then calculated it for the others and her relatively much skinnier younger sister (same body type as me, without the lean muscle) and she was also in the 98% percentile! At that point I think the wife lost all faith in their “scientific” calculations….

It is terrible that they advertise the group for women only but don’t offer a men’s only one. Maybe the work experience person that knocked it up forgot to add the second text box in Word ๐Ÿ˜‰

9 09 2010
39stonecyclist

Yup Mate, I agree BMI is a load of old tosh, BUT its good to see what the numbers were vs what they are now !

But overall BMI Is rubbish, its just STUPID that the Government say USE Bmi, then when a 39stone person does, they are faced with ridicule, its a disgrace TBH.

Re the poster:

I asked someone on the front desk where the “Men Only” group session details were ? The answer ? “We dont have Men Only”

Gaz

9 09 2010
Fin

I have just realised you used to weigh a quarter of a ton! The BBC one only goes to 27st (BMI was 68).

9 09 2010
39stonecyclist

Bloody Hell, I didnt know that !

For a BMI Calclator that does go upto 39 stone you need to look to America !

Gaz

9 09 2010
welshcyclist

I have been telling my better half that BMI index is crap for years, yet in the back of my mind I thought perhaps I was making excuses for myself. As you know I’ve been 16 stone for a couple of years now, I think my BMI is 34? Recently, I was at the doctors, and after he’d weighed me, said I was obese, no surprise there, but he didn’t mention BMI. I told him that I cycled approx., 200 miles a week, he wasn’t impressed, and simply said, “then you’re eating more calories than you burn, start eating less.” Gulp, that told me. Still struggling to eat less, and sensibly, always starving after my cycling.

9 09 2010
39stonecyclist

Yup, Agreed, Its a good indicator of “Before and After” etc but thats about it.

As for your Doctor, What a tit, how can you dismiss someone who cycles so much? Sure he might have a point about Cals In, but come on 200 freaking miles in a week, he needs to give you a pat on th back and then HELP you with your eating as opposed to saying “Stop” Geeze if it were that easy noone would be overwight !

Good Luck Though Mate

Gaz

10 09 2010
Clive Chapman

All of the professional rugby players at my club are obese according to BMI.

Care to tell them that mate?

10 09 2010
39stonecyclist

I know, YOU tell ’em ๐Ÿ™‚

10 09 2010
Henrik Risager

When I was living in France I was told that 13 stones was my weight when I did a medical check up.

A few years before, I was around 17-18 stones, I was sick (stomach flu of some sort) and I lost lost of weight and ended up at 13 stones. Everyone who saw me after, when I was gaining weight again, was sure that I was sick.

I’m now hovering around the 15 a half stones right now, feel good and best at 15 stone. At 13 I felt skinny, weak and not healthy.

So take the BMI with a bit of salt.

Keep up your good work, happy riding ๐Ÿ™‚

10 09 2010
39stonecyclist

Yup, BMI isnt how I measure myself nor will it be in the future, but as a before vs after look its good. I’ll keep going until I AM happy, not the NHS.

Thanks , I sure will ๐Ÿ™‚

Gaz

10 09 2010
Peter Martin

hi mate haven’t given up just strugglin to find my stride – but I will ๐Ÿ˜‰

10 09 2010
39stonecyclist

We all know you will buddy ๐Ÿ™‚

Gaz

What are YOUR Thoughts?

