A Roadie No More ! Time To Update The Stable

13 11 2010

This week, I became , No longer a roadie.

Goodbye my 105 Surosa

WHY you all ask ?

 

MTB’ing has boosted my weight loss numbers and I feel SOOOO Much fitter than I have for a while too, that and cycling home , with my Magicshine , on the PITCH Black Canal, was the most fun I have EVER had on a Commute.

 

I disposed of my Cube this week, The Insurance Company of the van driver that hit me, have now settled (On the cost of the bike)

Bye Bye

 

So, Where does that leave me ?

 

Well….Im not clear in my head where it leaves me yet TBH LOL

First off I am “On-One” now πŸ˜€

On One 456 Summer Season Raw

On One 456 Summer Season Raw

What a bike it proved to be on Friday too, I took the road route to work, with 70Mph gusting winds IΒ wasn’tΒ gonna risk going for a swim !!!

Its a SERIOUS Down Hiller/Off Road bike, Its a little on the smaller side for me, due to theΒ Geometric set up , Actually, its not small, its just different to the normal XC MTB’s I ride,Β Β  but when off road, it performs like nothing else I have EVER rode, the flip side is, when on road, it was at times, not suited, that said, I got home just 3 mins more than I would on my roadie…. (Im sure Clive and Red, will appreciate just how much of a monster this bike is)

Question now is….Do I buy another Cube…….. IΒ don’tΒ want to step foot in Halfords but have always wanted a Boardman (Maybe second hand is the way to go ?) for the days when I am forced to go On road over winter ?

 

PS…C2W will bring me a roadie next Summer, so fear not πŸ™‚

Actions

Information

20 responses

13 11 2010
Clive Chapman

That’s some geometry there feller! What’s the travel on those forks?

Seriously though, you’ll have a better MTB experience on towpaths and easy trails if you go rigid.

Save the suspension for proper trails that need it.

It’ll make you better off roader too! πŸ™‚

13 11 2010
39stonecyclist

Im REALLY not sure what you are saying mate ?

Get a MTB Without a Sus Fork ? Lock It Out ? Ride A Full Sus ? Run Rats Over ?

This Damn off roading stuff is all new to me, I KNOW I started on a MTB but the worst I ever did to it, was to sit my fat arse on it LOL

15 11 2010
Clive Chapman

Sorry mate, different language there. If towpaths and cycle paths are what you’re pedalling on then a rigid MTB is the way forward like my commuting MTB with its steel Kona P2 forks. Or as you say lock the front forks out if you’re able.

If you’re going “proper” MTBing then suspension is fine.

Hope that’s explained!

15 11 2010
39stonecyclist

You aint seen the Canals up here have you LOL

πŸ˜€

Depending what office I am in its either 14 or 11 miles, at LEAST 50% of that is ROUGH , mud filled and even has cobbles thrown in :D….Every single night I am CAKED in mud, my bikes look like they have never ever been washed, despite being washed every night LOL

I’ll try and grab some Video some time πŸ˜€

Gaz

PS Your MTB Advice is however always welcome, its all new to me.

13 11 2010
Matt

I finally
found the reason for weight gain. Once I learned this
I took the steps to reverse the process. Now that it has worked for me, I strongly believe it
will work for you.

13 11 2010
39stonecyclist

I’d like to think I might have found it myself by now πŸ˜€

14 11 2010
welshcyclist

My firm’s Bike2Work scheme is due to start again in January, I’m hoping to get a singlespeed. I’ve been using my Subway in just the one gear now for a month, I get a much better workout, and feel so much fitter by doing so.

14 11 2010
39stonecyclist

I was saying only yesterday, once I get my Compo πŸ™‚ for being squashed by a van , I am hoping to pick up either a Caad9 or Madone (Depending on how much I get offered) and all being well i’d also like a charger or On-One Single Speed too πŸ˜€

15 11 2010
Peter Martin

Woooo a lot changes in a short period of time! Why one or the other mate – time to accept the truth you are an excellent roadie and a great off roader and you love both – enjoy both! πŸ˜‰

15 11 2010
39stonecyclist

For the time being, the MTB is getting me towards goal and is doing AMAZING things for my fittness, but I have taken the roadie a few times, my speeds have shot right up, but then the weight and fitness fell a little, so until summer I have taken the option out of my hands , this way its MTB and off road commutes all the way, it will help get to goal and make me so much better when I jump back on a roadie for the summer

Simples

πŸ˜€

15 11 2010
39stonecyclist

PS. Wanna donate your Madone to me ?

15 11 2010
39stonecyclist

As for changes, I wont have the On-One by weekend, but watch this space ….2 New MTB’s on the way….One HAS to be here this week, the other……well that will be worth the wait πŸ˜€

16 11 2010
Clive Chapman

Sounds like my towpaths mate, mud, ruts and even cobblestones. Don’t need suspension for that!

You’ll have to make time to come “proper MTBing” with me at some point, I’ll show you rough surfaces! πŸ˜‰

16 11 2010
39stonecyclist

Hummm. Nop. Mine is worse, a million times worse infact πŸ™‚

I’ll grab some video some time πŸ˜‰

17 11 2010
Clive Chapman

Hahaha! Is this a “rough ground” pissing competition? πŸ™‚

18 11 2010
39stonecyclist

Course it is mate πŸ™‚

I have my new Cube now πŸ˜€

16 11 2010
Mr.Weightloss

Thank you so much for sharing it.

16 11 2010
39stonecyclist

Your Welcome

19 11 2010
Clive Chapman

Banging mate! I hope you’ll both be very happy! πŸ˜‰

19 11 2010
39stonecyclist

Wait till you SEE it mate πŸ™‚

What are YOUR Thoughts?

