The Time Is Here ! Manchester To Blackpool – Final Training Ride Report

10 07 2011

It doesn’t seem like its been 12 months, but it has.

I have been training hard since about March, upping distance, speed, sprinting, climbing and technique.

Now, by the time this goes live here, if all has gone well, I will have crossed the finish line in Blackpool and either given a celebration for Wouter or Cav (Depending on the space around me) and hopefully it will be on video.

This update will chronicle last weekends last training ride.

I decided to do a climb that used to scare the hell out of me “Woodhead Pass” it scared me because its a busy road but also because the ride above offered 2000ft of climbing on narrow country lanes.

but in truth I have climbed MUCH worse.

so it was an excellent ride, really great climbing, fun chasing some “Real” climbers on the way up (Managing to scalp one) and on the way down, I proved I am an AMAZING descender 🙂

Livestrong Bike Woodhead Pass

Finally, just before  the last climb, there were 2 roadies around 250 foot in front of me, I raised my pace to 30 mph, passed them and then hit the climb, like I have never hit a climb in my whole life, I managed to stay stood up until just over half way, its a steep climb that goes on for about a mile, I managed to crest the hill, still in front, by around 200ft once on the flat, I took off again and finally hit the home stretch, it was down hill, I averaged 27 Mph, with tired legs, after one of the fastest climbs I have ever done.

I have become a cyclist, today, I find out if I am where I want to be.

Finally, i’ll leave you with a video of my thoughts from Saturday.

If this or I have inspired you, then PLEASE sponsor me for the 2011 Manchester to Blackpool charity ride, together, we CAN beat cancer.

http://www.justgiving.com/the39stonecyclist

Actions

Information

What are YOUR Thoughts?

