It’s Time I Re-Joined The SS

25 08 2011

Does this man look part of the SS to you ?

No, Clive, not black boots, but the Single Speed Club.

See, last year/The start of this, I had a very sexy, retro SS bike that improved my climbing bar none.

However, after a few months, I felt (wrongly) that I had made SUCH huge strides that I couldn’t get any better ( I know I know, I’m new at all this still and we ALL get things wrong)

I have yearned after one since, so this week, I took the opportunity to move on 1 or 2 of my existing bikes to free up some cash and space and got myself a very nice (and HUGE) Specialized Langster Single Speed bike and AREADY its helping me with my climbing and cadence etc.

In another bike-themed-point, I got my Cyclo-Cross sorted this week, with another HUGE Thanks going out to the A6 Cycle  Warehouse for getting it sorted, I am not overly impressed with Planet X for allowing a bike out in the state my CX was given to me in (it needed the threads re-machining,new pads and the wheel truing) , that said, the bike itself is AWESOME Fun , I did 20 Canal miles on it yesterday and LOVED them all, I do need disk brakes tho !!!!!

So here is the Langster and the Uncle John (Both in DESPERATE Need of a clean) there will be better pic’s of both at a later date.

Langster Single Speed and Planet X Uncle John Cyclo Cross

& Let us say a goodbye to this !

Custom Trek Madone 1274 Project One, 39 stone cyclist

Actions

Information

9 responses

25 08 2011
welshcyclist

If you read my blog awhile back, well several months ago, I single speeded on my Subway LTD for a spell. I enjoyed it immensely, and would love to get a SS bike myself. When I read, in Clive’s blog, that he’d got the Genesis SS, I asked via his comments section what set up he’d gone for? He obviously had moved on from that particular post, so I didn’t get a reply. What set-up is your SS bike? I don’t pretend to know the SS terminology, but I mean how many teeth on front and back cogs. Your bikes are both very impressive.

25 08 2011
39stonecyclist

Hummmm, the Ring is a 42T, not sure about the freewheel, will double check for you tho

25 08 2011
39stonecyclist

Ok

Its 42×15…..I need more GI on that for SURE !

26 08 2011
Clive Chapman

Sorry Welshie, I answered that in the following blog of mine here: http://www.massivemtber.co.uk/?p=1848#comments sorry if you thought I was ignoring you! 40t front 18t back. 🙂

Nice Gaz!

26 08 2011
39stonecyclist

40/18 !!!!!

I assume its easy to spin out on that ?

27 08 2011
Clive Chapman

It is mate, but you need the rest from hammering up the climb in the first place!

27 08 2011
39stonecyclist

Good point

Well made

🙂

26 08 2011
nilling

Like the Langster, is it new?

26 08 2011
39stonecyclist

Thanks

Its the 2010 version

What are YOUR Thoughts?

