Feel-Good Week, Encore, Off Road FUN

4 09 2011

I love cycling, be it on-road, Single Speed, MTB’ing, On my CX etc etc

However, the one thing I REALLY love, the one thing that puts a smile on my face like nothing else, is taking my CX down the Canal towpath.

Feel-Good week, the Encore,, is about doing what makes YOU Feel-Good, Sure I love the ultra-intenseness’ of my Singlespeed or my road bike and giving it hell, but flying down the canal, mud spewing everywhere, wheels slip-sliding, geese hissing, dogs erm dogging ? Wait, no that’s not right.

If ever I am feeling a little down (who doesn’t) and need something to perk me up, I have now found my remedy !, look at the following pictures, who WOULDNT Finish 10 miles of this, beaming “Ear-To-Ear” ?

IMG_00253

IMG_00247

IMG_00243

IMG_00245

Proof I was having FUN ?

Actions

Information

16 responses

4 09 2011
Ezekiel Kok

Wow, single speed ? tts nice!

4 09 2011
39stonecyclist

No, not SS but VERY Nice

4 09 2011
Michiel

Yes Canal Paths are great, and looking at the pictures, you were just around the corner from me 🙂

5 09 2011
39stonecyclist

Where are you based mate ?

10 09 2011
Michiel

I am in Openshaw, just off the ‘yellowbrick road’ before it crosses under Ogden Lane.

4 09 2011
chub2stud

Looks like a fab ride chap! I remember having a canal boat holiday 10 years back, it was great fun, but a the time wished i had a bike so i could ride into the little towns nearby.

5 09 2011
39stonecyclist

I’ve always wanted a canal holiday ( well, I used To) having a bike would make it better tho

5 09 2011
nilling

Sweet looking CX bike Gaz – enjoy! 🙂

5 09 2011
39stonecyclist

Rides well too 🙂

Stopping is an issue tho 🙂

5 09 2011
nilling

Needs disc brakes, not pads! lolz 😉

5 09 2011
39stonecyclist

I agree and have a set of 700c wheels that will take disks

However I’d also need

A new fork

Avid road calipers ( costing much more than the mtb ones)

So for now I’ve ordered some world renowned koolstop salmons

8 09 2011
Lee Watts (@WelshCyclistGuy)

Noticed you were selling your fork and wheels for your uncle john on ebay, et me guess upgrading to disk brakes ?

9 09 2011
39stonecyclist

Thtat was the plan yes

However due to a long list of faults, its going back to PX

9 09 2011
Steve C

Great post. I ride that same towpath everyday on my commute home. Can be a bit hairy on slicks though, especially after this week’s rain!

9 09 2011
39stonecyclist

Just as the snow melted this year I stuck 1.5’s slicks on my mtb, wow , I almost ended up in the drink lol

9 09 2011
Steve C

Yeah, almost been there myself a few times. If it’s bad I normally cut off and ride down the old canal route through Gorton (where your 3rd and 4th pics are) and then up Hyde Road to home.

I love towpath rides and there’s so many to choose from around here.

What are YOUR Thoughts?

