Meet The Best Driving Instructor EVER !

4 12 2011

20111204-101257.jpg

Meet Gary , no , not me, my instructor !

My first lesson was a real challenge as I couldn’t tell if he was addressing me or himself every time he said Gary …… In the end, I just called him son, I think he liked that :0)

Just to be clear, this is not a paid for advert , I didn’t get any free lessons in return for the promise of an advert , I am posting this as I do genuinely believe that this man is one of the best out there !..

My path followed like this

Lesson one – rough , challenging , much much work needed, but Gary knew what buttons of mine to press.

Lesson 2 – went so well that Gary refused to let me book lesson 3 until after I had passed my theory &hpt

Lesson 3 – after passing my theory I booked my practical – Gary had shown all the confidence and faith in me that I’d ever needed- I asked for lesson 3 to be a mock test – it wasn’t perfect but Gary again saw where I was falling short and pointed it all out

Test Day – you could say before my test I had a lesson ( as is standard practise ) but it was more of a case of 2 blokes driving round Stockport in rush hour pointing out all the bad drivers out there :0)

And with that- it was done !

So if your local to Manchester – want to learn in a car that’s REALLY easy to drive as well as amazingly comfortable .Plus an instructor that not only knows his stuff but is also a genuinely top bloke , then give Gary a call on 07806 782857, please mention my name when calling.

You WON’T regret it !!!!!

Actions

Information

7 responses

9 12 2011
Brian Colborne

Hey Gary, I read your story, its the first time ive visited your blog! my name is Brian, I am 130KG.. gimme second working out pounds.. ok thats 286 pounds according to google, its really inspiring to hear your story, I also want to lose weight badly, I have been battling to find something I would enjoy doing and often end up using the excuse that i dont have any mates to work out with.. yet here i see you did it on your own, with simple things like cycling to work.. I also thought i was too heavy for bikes! so im going to get one thats right for me and start cycling cos I actually like it a lot. I put the link in here cos I have a mate, called Francis who is one of the best driving instructors in the Tallaght & Maynooth area in ireland.. he is very patient which is suprising as hes a frenchman settled in ireland for 13 years!
Do you have any tips to just get going with either cycling or another kind or workout, I always enjoyed cycling, but I have a crap road near me (truth be told i am terrified of riding that stretch as I almost have to hit cyclists because the road is so narrow) but perhaps i should get a bicycle hook and take my bike somewhere I can cycle in the woodland.

10 12 2011
39stonecyclist

Hey Brian

I would suggest finding somewhere that you feel ok with and just doing it, that way you can tell pretty quick if cycling is for you, it might not be, no 2 people are the same and we don’t always like the same things as others , so if you can beg/steal/borrow a bike (not steal of course) and let me know how you get on.

I ride without anyone else most of the time BUT for company I have music, maybe give that a try too ?

Either way, I wish you the best of luck, the hardest step is ALWAYS the first !

16 12 2011
Pete Nightingale

Chipping in,
Hi Brian,
maybe your local cycling group can come up with some suggestions? They may well have beginners / easy rides to get you going.

Cheers
Pete

16 12 2011
39stonecyclist

There’s also sky ride too

16 12 2011
briancolborne

Just found sky ride (google can be your friend sometimes) i like the concept as it would provide moral support.. helps to be answerable, I need a new seat on my bike, (bought 2nd hand) and it keeps slipping down. wierd, i tightened it up real good too with strong force.. just wont stay up,, anyone got some experience with this? never had this years ago when I cycled more regularly..

16 12 2011
39stonecyclist

As a sky ride leader myself I’d have to say you would be made to feel very welcome and given all the support you need

Not sure about your saddle issues tho ?

26 12 2011
2011 In Review – It’s Been A Kind, but Not Perfect Year. « The Cyclist who FORMERLY Weighed 39 Stone (559 Pounds)

[…] the Theory in 2011 but also the practical test, meaning 7 weeks later I have a full driving license, it was pretty challenging but I’m so very proud of what I […]

What are YOUR Thoughts?

