Want To Lose Weight For The New Year Of 2012 ???

30 12 2011

Well, We are here to help. We ???

Yup

Gary Brennan , Me and My Fat Friend

See “We” Know a thing or 2 about the subject and we figured that for the new year, there might be some people out there searching for weight loss tips

The Pic That Started It All, Gaz @ 34 Stone

1: The most simple tip to lose weight EVER is “Eat less and move more” – Common sense I know but it’s what every single weight loss plan is based on, TRUST ME !

2: Control the AMOUNT you eat at each meal time – make sure your meals are low in fat. This is not set in stone for instance you might want to also think about calories or portion control.

3: Get weighed – Measure your body, hips, thighes, chest, arms, neck……what can be measured can be managed. Always weigh-in on the same day in the same clothes on the same scales at the same time of day.

There is no point starting on a weight loss plan unless you get weighed first. This is very important. You need to be able to monitor your progress to know how well you are doing and that any changes in your lifestyle and eating are reaping the rewards or where you are making mistakes.

4 Keep a food diary – write down what you eat and what exercise you have done. Make sure you look at Calories n vs Calories out and try to ensure that Calories out is MORE than Calories in – If it helps you write down your feelings.

5.Smarter Shopping The golden rulehere is to NEVER EVER  go food shopping hungry. You make the decision to eat biscuits and crap food’s when you buy them in the shops, not when you take them from the cupboard. Don’t buy them in the first place.

6, Make a Goal list – write down achievable goals.

If my first ever goal, at 39 stone, was to ride to Blackpool in 3 hours and 10 mins, I would have failed on my journey VERY early on, so my goals were simple ones like tie my shoes, shop in regular stores, as the express train that is the 39 stone cyclist picked up speed and rumbled on, the goals got bigger, harder and more focused, to the point where I can now average 20mph on the bike, I can do “Joel Lane” and not only do I shop at regular stores, I even tie my shoes in them while shopping in the bargain basement section and stuff FITS

:0)

Good luck with your own journeyin 2012, may it be a happy, healthy and successful one

Gaz

Manchester to Blackpool 2011 gaz in radioshack kit

Actions

Information

13 responses

31 12 2011
Ginger Snaps Lewis

Seems like every commercial on this time of year is a weight loss program, stop smoking program or a sale on exercise equipment — gets a little tiresome. But, never tiring to see you talk about your journey. Over the past few years, my resolutions for the new year have been to take it a little easier on myself because that’s what I’ve needed. But, this year, I think I’m going to kick it up a notch and make a goal for a healthier life and a lot less weight. More bike riding and hiking, more healthy eating choices and LOTS more activity.

Keep inspiring me! 🙂

31 12 2011
39stonecyclist

Great to hear

Do keep up updated with your progress in 2012 and I’ll keen on trying to inspire

31 12 2011
Bluejuice

Top man Gaz!

Been reading /lurking for a while – now set to do something next year as 50 yrs and 20 st approach if I don’t get my finger out!

All the best from another Brennan!

31 12 2011
39stonecyclist

Hey Blue

You’re never too old :0)

Keep us updated with your progress yeah 🙂

Gaz

31 12 2011
Skippy

Posted on my blog ” Your Rules ” and i am sure if you send ” fatcyclist.com comments ” the post link there will be many who in years to come will thank you!

Best wishes for the New Year

31 12 2011
39stonecyclist

Thanks skippy all the best in 2012

I’ll hook up a link in my links page to you

4 01 2012
pathguy

Great post! #6 is a good point – I started losing weight without actually setting a goal of losing weight but by setting a series of running goals. I think that helped, because you can see some results more regularly than if you set 1 giant goal. #5 is smart too, I never thought about it that way, but it’s true!

4 01 2012
39stonecyclist

Thanks dude

feedback is always appreciated

13 01 2012
Michael

Great to read about your success ! Keep up the good work!

17 01 2012
al

Congrats on your new move for weight loss! I really hope it works out well for you. If you can find something active that you find really FUN you’ll have a great shot at losing weight. Remember that you don’t have to give up the foods you love, you can still have the things you love to eat. But just try to make smaller amounts, and eat 5-6 small meals a day. Good Luck!

29 10 2012
Cari

About weighing yourself before and during weight loss-I beg to differ. Even if you want to lose weight, not everyone finds the scale motivating. I have met people who don’t lose, or even gain (muscle mass) and that in itself is enough to make them lose their motivation. For me, I have the opposite, I lose 10 pounds, get all excited, and then start falling into old habits again. Don’t know why, its just how my mind works.

I’ve decided to avoid the scale completely until the doctor has me hop on. Even IF I don’t lose any weight, simply becoming more active is a good thing, right? I believe that once I’m into a routine, checking the scale *might* be ok, but I will be very cautious. I’d hate to ruin my motivation. 😦

29 10 2012
39stonecyclist

Everyone is different, you gotta do what works for you

25 02 2013
paleobrun

Really surprising, slim down full weight of 2 people

What are YOUR Thoughts?

