Just Say Those Three Little Words……A Guest Post By Bill

7 11 2012

Note from Gaz, I have a few guest post’s lined up, if you want to submit one, just leave a comment with your emails and i’ll come back to you:

Ok, Bill, Take it away !!!!!
Like many in my position, I struggle to find ‘normal’ clothes, let alone cycling gear! Whilst perusing ebay, I think I found the perfect jersey: “Team Fat Bastard, the eating club with a cycling disorder….”

I’m 36 and my bathroom scales have to be engineered by NASA. Like you, I have been inspired and motivated by Gaz and his story. I don’t think anyone who reads these pages can feel otherwise. The frankness and clarity with which he describes his journey, along with the honesty when admitting mistakes, provides us all with a superb model to follow. Gaz, we salute you mate.

I’m only just starting on my journey, 3 months in to be exact. I have been ‘trying’ (honestly dear) for longer, but whilst I was loosing weight through careful eating, things weren’t going a quickly as I wanted. Actually, to be honest, it wasn’t a case of what I wanted, it’s what was needed.

So here I am, 10kg down on where I started, and the proud owner of 2 bikes. A long way to go yet, but I think I’ve done the hard bit. I’ve started. So this is why I’m writing this post for you, I’m going to share with you how to start! Quite simply, you need 3 things in your life: Inspiration, Motivation & Effort.

Inspiration can come from anywhere; family, friends, TV, music etc. But this is done already for you. You’re READING your inspiration! This site and all the links provide plenty of inspiration. So we can tick that one off (see, a third of the way there and you’ve not had to lift a finger!).

Motivation seems to be a tricky one. It’s not. Try this: If you don’t loose weight, you will die early. Could be 3 years early, could be next week. No matter, you will leave this planet a fat git who went too soon. Of course, scaring people into weight loss doesn’t work (it didn’t work for me for 15 years). I did it through love. Love for my daughter. Love for my wife. Love for my family. Love for my friends. Plus, to quote Aerosmith, “I don’t want to miss a thing”. If none of that works for you, give yourself some targets. Gaz has put some brilliant examples on here. They can be performance related, weight related, or lifestyle related. Personally, I would LOVE to go swimming (too embarrassed). I also have a suit, 2 shirts and some cycling gear in my wardrobe that I’m determined to fit into.

Effort is the tricky one. It’s tricky not because it hurts, or costs money, or is difficult to do. It’s tricky because nothing that I can type here will make you do something. It’s down to YOU. All I can suggest is go over your inspiration and motivation time and time again till it f*****g sinks in!! Then get your arse off the sofa and do something! You won’t regret it, and once you start, you won’t stop. I promise.

(Notice that none of the above need cost any money. So no excuses.)

I could talk for hours about bikes, and equipment choice, and routes, and Wiggo, but I won’t. That’s for another day. I’ll finish by wishing all the best of luck on your journey, no matter how far down the road you are. You WILL succeed, you WILL feel great and you WILL inspire others. Oh, and we WILL do the Manchester to Blackpool ride together one day……

 

PS: My jersey has just been ordered off ebay. Two sizes too small of course 😉

Actions

Information

6 responses

7 11 2012
scostanzo

Great post! Thanks, Bill! Have fun on your journey. “Fun” is the 4th word. This isn’t work, it is actually fun to cycle your arse off! Your article was a good one for me and not only a reminder of why this works, but gave me some impetus to update my inspiration, motivation, and getoffmyarse-ivation (effort). Cheers!

Steve, from across the Pond

PS. A big “thank you” goes out to Gaz for encouraging guest posts!

7 11 2012
39stonecyclist

Steve, do you want to write one?

Your spot on with the fun comment mate, at no point is it ever a chore

7 11 2012
SJ

Nice one bill !

7 11 2012
Clive Chapman

Good effort mate!

8 11 2012
thewheezyrider

Thanks for the comments! Glad you like the article, keep peddling!
Bill

8 11 2012
thewheezyrider

Pedaling, not peddling! Unless you are a door-to-door salesman, in which case, keep it up, you’re doing good 🙂

What are YOUR Thoughts?

