Want To Lose Weight For The New Year ?

2 01 2013

Well, We are here to help. We ???

Yup

Gary Brennan , Me and My Fat Friend

See “We” Know a thing or 2 about the subject and we figured that for the new year, there might be some people out there searching for weight loss tips

1: The most simple tip to lose weight EVER is “Eat less and move more” – Common sense I know but it’s what every single weight loss plan is based on, TRUST ME !

2: Control the AMOUNT you eat at each meal time – make sure your meals are low in fat. This is not set in stone for instance you might want to also think about calories or portion control.

3: Get weighed – Measure your body, hips, thighs  chest, arms, neck……what can be measured can be managed. Always weigh-in on the same day in the same clothes on the same scales at the same time of day.

There is no point starting on a weight loss plan unless you get weighed first. This is very important. You need to be able to monitor your progress to know how well you are doing and that any changes in your lifestyle and eating are reaping the rewards or where you are making mistakes.

4 Keep a food diary – write down what you eat and what exercise you have done. Make sure you look at Calories n vs Calories out and try to ensure that Calories out is MORE than Calories in – If it helps you write down your feelings.

5.Smarter Shopping The golden rule here is to NEVER EVER  go food shopping hungry. You make the decision to eat biscuits and crap food’s when you buy them in the shops, not when you take them from the cupboard. Don’t buy them in the first place.

6, Make a Goal list – write down achievable goals.
*New for 2013* 7. Know your trigger foods, If you know you are likely to gorge on salty snacks or chocolate, keep tempting treats out of reach.
.
*New for 2013*8. Find a food replacement,Exercise, read a book, or ride a bike rather than snacking. Learn to listen to your body’s clues about hunger versus boredom, for example. Exercising 30 minutes a day, four to five times a week, is recommended. “When eliminating or reducing certain foods from your diet, pick one or two to start,”
.
*New for 2013* 9. Reward yourself ,When you achieve a goal you’ve set for yourself, splurge on a pair of shoes or some other non-food treat. While dieting may feel like a slow process, it’s a lifestyle change. “Doing it slowly will help you stick with it and make you feel like you’re not giving up everything all at once,”
.
*New for 2013* 10. Sign up for a ride with #Teamgaz, Im looking at doing one organised ride a month, for all ablilitys, not ready for that yet ? then just follown #teamgaz on twitter @39stonecyclist and keep up with the ethos of healthy living and a positive mental attitude and you’ll soon be riding in a group of other #teamgaz members
.

If my first ever goal, at 39 stone, was to ride to Blackpool in 3 hours and 10 mins, I would have failed on my journey VERY early on, so my goals were simple ones like tie my shoes, shop in regular stores, as the express train that is the 39 stone cyclist picked up speed and rumbled on, the goals got bigger, harder and more focused, to the point where I can now average 20mph on the bike, I can do “Joel Lane” and not only do I shop at regular stores, I even tie my shoes in them while shopping in the bargain basement section and stuff FITS

:0)

Good luck with your own journey in 2013, may it be a happy, healthy and successful one

Gaz

Manchester to Blackpool 2011 gaz in radioshack kit

no cycling, no fat

Towards the end of 2012, still on a successful road

Actions

Information

9 responses

2 01 2013
Dave smith

I hope I can shift my weight this year

2 01 2013
39stonecyclist

wishing you the best of luck

try my tips and report back, #teamgaz is about all of us helping you, not just me.

Gaz

2 01 2013
Dave

Wise words as always.

I use an app call MyFitnessPal which is basically calorie counting for geeks. The database has most foods and you can even scan barcodes, plus you enter your exercise so you can keep track of everything. It really opened my eyes to how bad some foods, like white bread are.

As you say having a goal is important, but it has to be a goal for you, not because society says you should lose weight. I’ve fallen in love with cycling and know that if I lose weight I will enjoy it even more. Therefore I eat less and enjoy my cycling more and lose more weight, for once its a good “vicious” circle.

These two things helped me lose over two stone last year, and will do the same this year.

Check out my progress at http://www.cyclingfromfattofit.blogspot.co.uk

Hope #TeamGaz is coming down to the south coast.

Dave

3 01 2013
39stonecyclist

I love that app, its been a GOLD Mine of info since I beat my eating disorder, as I had no clue about a lot of the stuff I wanted to try TBH

and losing weight does indeed make cycling much much more fun , I can vouch for that :0)

South Coast? Sounds warmer than up north ,if there is enough demand then I’d love to take the #teamgaz rides around the country and beyond

Happy 2013 and keep on going

Gaz

3 01 2013
Kerry-Anne

Thanks a million for your tips. I have weight to lose this year and will be using my bike. I am not going to give up.

I hope you have a brilliant 2013!

3 01 2013
39stonecyclist

You’re welcome

Good luck with it

Gaz

5 01 2013
2nkenn

Good tips there Gaz.
My personal favorite dieting tip is to use a smaller plate than usual, that way it looks like there is more food on it. It worked for me for years. It really helps with portion control.

6 01 2013
39stonecyclist

Great tip that

Gaz

2 08 2013
Steven

I found that cutting drastically down on crappy carbs was key (diet meals and snacks are full of them). Diet sodas are absolutely out now, as I actually felt I was getting hooked on them! When you get all this stuff out of your system, you stop craving it after a while.

Perhaps more than this, eating meals at set times and being fairly religious about not eating anything in between has been a good long term habit (for me, at least). I have my evening meal as early as possible, brush my teeth an hour later, then have nothing but water thereafter.

When not cycling, I walk wherever possible (shops, kids’ school, nights out). I was never a big as you were, though Gaz. I can’t even imagine how much better you feel now.

Keep it up, good luck and I’ll see you on Strava.

What are YOUR Thoughts?

