FM028, 60CM, None ISP, SRAM Rival/Force, My Carbon Fibre Has Taken Its Maiden Voyage

26 03 2011

Today I rode, for the first time, My New Carbon Fibre bike.

Looking at the tech sheet/ Technical drawings , you would be forgiven for thinking its a Trek Madone, but its not, its a Chinese Madone, or as I like to call it, a Chi-Done 🙂

Since I started to cycle I always wanted a Carbon bike, but , put simply, I was too darn fat. I’m not any more, In fact I have not been for at least 6 months BUT I wanted to wait, make sure I didnt gain weight and then reward myself.

FM028 None Isp 60CM Cheap Frame Carbon

With the help of a bike shop and then a good friend its now together, there are a couple of adjusters missing so its not 100% right now, but after 5 Miles today I know all I need to, lets look at some figures:

Frame Inc Shipping : £325 (No Customs)

Groupset SRAM Rival/Force £230

Shop Costs £40

So for less than £600 I have a brand new Carbon Bike, with pretty much the same Tech Sheet as a Madone

FM028 Front Cable

The Bike is BB30, however as I am  not flush with cash, this build has been kept to a minimum, as such its running an adaptor, meaning it can only get better.

I cant say how well it will hold up to my beatings every day, but for now, I can say that it climbs like a beast, its lighter than my CAAD9 (BB30) and Stiffer than my CAAD9, and descending its as sold as a rock, I cant wait to beat it every day, but for now simply marvel in the glory of a Carbon SRAM road bike for less than an average Hybrid

Update, its been up Joel Lane, to Werneth Low, Its stiff climbing, great at sprinting and rock sold cornering

FM028 werneth low

 


Actions

Information

31 responses

26 03 2011
Toby Field

That’s a nice bike. Reminds me of the Ribble Stealth.

How did you get the groupset so cheap?

What about the cost of the other bits i.e. saddle, handlebars, cables, wheels, tyres etc?

26 03 2011
39stonecyclist

Groupo Was second hand, bargain, not really used.

Saddle is stolen from my Caad9 TBH, Bars, Cables, Wheels and Tyres were all just laying around from bikes I’d killed in the past with my awesome-power-ness. 🙂

27 03 2011
Clive Chapman

Looking forward to seeing how durable it is mate.

27 03 2011
39stonecyclist

You and me both buddy, that’s the one thing I cant answer for a while, but all being well, I’ll end up with a carbon MTB or Cross and of course a TT (Im build for speed you see LOL)

Early indications are good tho TBH

27 03 2011
fizzhogg

Carbon fiber is rock solid, so long as it’s decently made.

From what carbon people tell me – the biggest difference I will notice when I switch from aluminum to CF is not weight or speed or any of that…

It is that “You will not get fatigued nearly as fast.”

A recent carbon convert told me that what he noticed was when he did his century on the carbon – “Mile 90 felt like mile 30.”

By the way, I dub your new ride “Smoke.”

🙂

27 03 2011
39stonecyclist

Im looking forward to riding 100 miles on Smoke then 😀

28 03 2011
Chris

Very nice!

Thinking of building a bike up myself. How did you get on fitting the bottom bracket?

28 03 2011
39stonecyclist

It was easy

I took it to a shop

then picked it up

Simples BB installation

🙂

Hope that helps 😀

28 03 2011
fossy

Glad its running good. Will be sorted when you get the cable adjusters

28 03 2011
39stonecyclist

Got decathlon to stick one in mate

Thanks 😀

Gaz

5 04 2011
Ben Hall

Hi Gaz, Just wondering mate, how tall are you? Im looking at an FM028 for myself and im curious about which frame size to go for.

5 04 2011
39stonecyclist

Hi Ben

Im 6 Foot 3″

Gaz

5 04 2011
Ben Hall

Cool, cheers mate. I reckon at 5 10″ the 56 should e perfect for me. All I have to do is wait for my student loan and plan a cool retro paint job!

6 04 2011
39stonecyclist

I’d agree mate

Enjoy when you get it

for the money, its amazing

Gaz

4 06 2011
mbalman

hi mate,you mind me asking which ebay seller you used for you fm28 frame? im just about to pull the trigger on an ebay frame and love the build you’ve done

7 06 2011
39stonecyclist

I went direct to Hong Fu

8 08 2011
Adam Baudelaire

Really keen to hear how the frame is doing. Still on it? Still happy? I’ve been looking at the ‘chinarellos 🙂

Adam

8 08 2011
39stonecyclist

I use it daily and lov it

9 08 2011
Adam

That’s fantastic. Have you looked at the chinese pinarellos? They look really amazing. You really are a bike lover aren’t you 🙂
I really, REALLY admire your weight loss. Well done that man 🙂

Adam

9 08 2011
39stonecyclist

Thanks Adam, I appreciate your comments

9 08 2011
Adam

Welcome mate.

A

9 08 2011
39stonecyclist

PS re the Chinarellos – I’ll be posting a picture soon enough 🙂

9 08 2011
Adam

Ohhh ) You got one? Tell me tell me tell me!

Adam
By the way, this is me:
http://www.facebook.com/adam.baudelaire

9 08 2011
39stonecyclist

I sure have – check the pictures on my Manchester to Blackpool 2011 post

Your a photographer / writer ?

15 11 2011
Jon

Hi There,

Do you know if the frame will take Dura Ace BB?

Thanks

Jon

15 11 2011
39stonecyclist

It will take a bb30 BB

20 11 2011
Adam B

Hi Jon, sorry not to get back to you. I’m not getting post updates. I settled on a aluminium Cervelo soloist. Prettiest thing you ever saw but I need to get a taller frame now I think. The riding position is just too uncomfortable. It’s a compact geometry 54 and I reckon I could ride a 61 comfortably.
I am a photographer and a lot of other things. Just starting a fashion label with my wife and always looking into entrepreneurial ventures.

A

24 03 2014
Look Keo

May i ask about your weight when u started on this frame? Im looking for a chin-done as well, just wondering if it will keep together..

24 03 2014
39stonecyclist

Around 19 stone

24 03 2014
hwestby

Thank you, so there might be hope for me getting carbon as well 🙂 what wheels?

24 03 2014
39stonecyclist

I used rs80’s

What are YOUR Thoughts?