The 39 Stone Cyclist Goes Cancer Fighting – Rides Manchester To Blackpool 2010 (Report)

4 07 2010

PLEASE Sponsor me, Its a GREAT cause !

http://www.justgiving.com/39stonecyclist

EDIT: Now with a video of me passing the finish line, scroll down !

Today I cycled the 2010 edition of the Manchester to Blackpool ride for The Christy. When I set about losing weight by cycling this was to be my first major event, the fact I actually rode it last year meant that I had to pull out all the stops this year and

Pre Ride:

Preparations started last night:

It Makes You Go FASTER You Know !

6.30 am was upon me and I was ready to go….Wait….There was something I was forgetting, Ohh it was the man who put the “O” into Dean, it was Dean-O….I text him to say I was ready and to meet up…The reply wasnt one I was expecting nor wanting…

Hummm we said 6.30 !

Delayed Start:

The reply was that he had just woken and was running late, not to worry I thought, he only lives 15 mins away……60 mins later I get a call to say he had turned up…AN HOUR LATE !!!! I was freezing, it was cold and windy and stood around was doing things to my man parts I don’t want to discuss in public !

I did snap this however !

Manchester to Blackpool 2010 Start Line

All was good however once we got under way at 7.30am and boy did we fly outta the blocks….well right until the traffic lights about 20 yards up the road stopped us.

Go Go Go:

We were then moving again, the first 10 miles were done at an average of 18mph, we were passing most people on the road and both felt amazingly strong, the second 10 miles came and passed us by without really noticing it, then we were at the 25 mile point, Dean wanted a drink, I needed a pee, seemed ideal….We pulled into the Golf Club and I snapped the best picture of the day

Cheap, Nasty And Tacky Looking Those Caad 9 's 😉

A Quick Pit Stop:

Our stop lasted no more than 5 minutes. Once we pulled out we were immediately faced with a fair old bit of climbing, I was shocked at just how well I was doing, even passing some other roadies, BONUS.

Before long we were at the top and ready to descend Haigh, now both Dean-o and I are fearless descenders and we went for it, topping out at 39.7Mph I had a couple of club riders so worried that they gave EVERYTHING to make sure they passed me 😀

Our Pace Would Only Get Better.

Into The Thick Of It:

Over the next few miles until we hit Preston we were in a relaxed rhythm behind a few guys that looked like club riders, moving along at between 18-21mph with very little effort and chatting along the way, it even got to the point where we both agreed that it was just too easy.

There was one last climb to a right hander (Sorry don’t know the name) where loads of riders walked, there was no way I was going to be oe of them, I attacked in the big ring and by the top I had dropped chaninrings but I was still cycling.

The next 5 miles were uneventful and we peeled off for another pee.

Picking Up The Pace:

Our pace had gone up to 16.9Mph , the major hills are in the first half of the ride and we had passed that, now we were headed for the head winds of Lytham.

4 Miles before Lytham the winds were whipping up and I took the lead, both Dean-O and another Random roadie were taking my tow and we cruised along at 22Mph, about half a mile before Lytham Dean offered to take the strain and I got out of the wind behind him.

Nothing was going to prepair us for what we were about to encounter. As we rounded the coastal road in Lytham we were hit by gusts of winds.

Ride Away From The Group Gaz:

Dean was doing his best but our speed had dropped to singles figures, I had promised myself to give EVERYTHING to get there in under 4 hours, now this was in serious jeopardy, I stood up and offered to take the lead and try to get us some momentum, the wind was nasty, my legs and lungs were on fire but I had got our speed up to 14 Mph and was passing everyone else.

What happened next was the closest I am ever going to get to being in a break away in the Tour De France, I looked behind to see I had dropped Dean, he couldn’t cling onto my back wheel, I didn’t want to slow down just yet, I kicked again and got to 17 mph, then as we left the coastal road I got back up to 20 mph, I kept looking behind and couldn’t see Dean, in fact there was no-one in front of me either, I had no one to defend and no one to attack, it was physically and mentally tough, it was ALL ME !!!

Do I Or Dont I ?

With a Mile to go I decided to stop and wait for him, I went to change down gears only for them not to work, bugger, the wind was still bad but nothing like Lytham, I wasnt sure what to do, I was stuck in the highest gear, if i stopped I wasnt sure I would get going again.

I made the hard choice to not wait and picked up my pace again, looking at my Garmin I was going to do it ! I was going to beat 4 Hours ! now it was just a question of by how much ?

as I pulled onto the Sea Front I was amazed to feel the wind change, I kicked and finished with a classy 30mph sprint finish !

Blackpool Tower , Amazing Shrinking Gaz

Dean was just 2-3 Mins behind me. We congratulated each other on a great team ride and rushed to look at the stats on my Garmin (stats Below):

I also have a video of my finish, I will upload it in the next few days.

Number 2

PLEASE dig deep and sponsor me, it’s for a GREAT cause ! I put myself on the line and beat last years time by 1 Hour and 30 Mins and didn’t even take a rest stop  !!!!! If that doesn’t deserve sponsoring them maybe doing it in under 4 hours at 20 stone does ?

http://www.justgiving.com/39stonecyclist

Avg Moving Speed: 16.4 mph
Max Speed: 39.6 mph
Time: 03:46:41
Distance: 61.74 mi
Elevation Gain: 2,249 ft
Calories: 4,654 C


Actions

Information

19 responses

4 07 2010
martinsj2

Great job! But I’m not shaving my legs for anyone or anything!

4 07 2010
39stonecyclist

The speed it gives you though , 1 hour and 30 mins quicker just because I shaved my legs 😉

5 07 2010
Clive Chapman

Top Job matey! 🙂

5 07 2010
39stonecyclist

Cheers mate, feel totally fine today too, gutted im off work, but then my bike doest have gears so i’ll need to sort that. I’ll ride later then 😀

5 07 2010
Peter Martin

What an achievement lad – inspirational as always!

5 07 2010
39stonecyclist

Cheers Pete Mate, Appreciate your kind words

5 07 2010
Geoff Myers

WELL DONE Gaz
What a superb effort, your efforts are helping me stay on the saddle and away from the pies!
Geoff

5 07 2010
39stonecyclist

LOL Thanks Mate, Hows it going ?

5 07 2010
Geoff Myers

Hi mate
Not bad the commute is working I think!

5 07 2010
39stonecyclist

Excellent, all I do is commute to work and yet I managed an average of 16.4 Mph, over 62 miles without any rest stops (I dont count pee’ing as resting) its amazing what commuting can do !

Keep up the good work

6 07 2010
Clive Chapman

Totally agree about commuting, you have to get to work and back and you’re done when you get home. No having to drag yourself out again on another pedal or go to the gym.

6 07 2010
39stonecyclist

Yup, I have done the gym, failed, attempted to workout after work, failed, so I decided that the only way it was gonna work for me was to make it part of my every day, I had to get to work and then home, so commuting was ideal, the rest, as they say, is history !

8 07 2010
Cancers_Info

Hey people! Lets kick cancers ASS

9 07 2010
154 Miles In A Week WHOOT ! « 39 Stone Cyclist

[…] however I didn’t feel any ill effects so was going to do some miles, however as reported here, my bike was ill, it needed a couple of spokes and 2 new gear cables, it seems the stem was oo long […]

13 07 2010
DiscountGolfClubs

so funny! like das Ladyshave. guy, you are a god. I like you!

15 07 2010
dgreatblog

great share, great article, very usefull for me…thank you
avid – mesothelioma resource

3 08 2010
July A Month In Review & Time For The August Ascent Challenge ! « 39 Stone Cyclist

[…] Well to be honest, its been a mixed month for me, The highlight being SMASHING my previous time for the Manchester to Blackpool and doing it in 3 Hours 46 Mins, […]

25 12 2010
lazywheels

Great ride. A great time, the problem I had was other riders on the road, stopped for a bite of cake and just could not get back into the traffic. My target time was 4 hours and just missed that. I also got held up behind numpty drivers in Preston as well as people iding all over the place on one or two of the steep hills. But well done. Commuting is the best training because you have to to do it, No backing out. However coming from Lytham way I expected the wind. Managed to kick on a bit much to the amazement of the small band of riders I was with

28 12 2010
39stonecyclist

Yup was class, was a shame my buddy was so late, as we would have missed ALL the crowds and gotten an even better time, here is to a sub 3 hours in 2011 😀

What are YOUR Thoughts?